Skip to content

Use of Building Information Modelling (BIM)

DADA is committed in working towards developing BIM level 2 capabilities to provide a consistent level of service across our civil and structural disciplines. This includes the use of Building Information Modelling (BIM), as defined in PAS 1192-2:2013: Building Information Modelling (BIM): process of designing, constructing, or operating a building or infrastructure asset using electronic object-oriented information. Our BIM Execution Plan (BEP) is a core approved document explains how the information management aspects of the appointment will be carried out by the delivery team and our approach to information management.

Our supplied BIM Execution Plan (“BEP”) provides a framework for strategically implementing BIM using consensus-built best practices, standards, and protocols covering Information Exchange Templates and Model Definition Templates.

Use of new Building Information Modelling (BIM) technology

In our projects, DADA develops a BIM Execution Plan (BEP) to define BIM Data Requirements, Model Definition, Information Exchange, and Data Drop Schedules. In developing a Common Data Environment (CDE) we develop a Data Model to define the integration between Cost Breakdown Structure (CBS) to integrate with the Asset Breakdown Structure (ABS) in SAP, and WBS in Oracle Primavera for Short Schedule of Cost Components items.

A ProjectWise CAD platform allows different design teams to exchange data early in the design process to aid in the management of design interfaces, and clash detection.  DADA defines a CAD standard which assists in the coordination of 4D CAD data across the programme, and the exchange of CAD models.  This will also assist in ensuring compliance with the governments Level 2 BIM mandate as aligned with PAS1192-2:2013.

Site Mapping and Resource Tracking tool (SMART) portal

An Asite collaboration platform is used to manage the flow of documents across the project teams and their supply chains. The workflow capability will be used to manage processes such as Requests For Information (RFI), Design Approvals, Early Warnings and Compensation Events.

Supply chain partners will be required to provide information in a format that enables easy integration with the GIS. The geospatial environment, viewable within the Site Mapping and Resource Tracking tool (SMART) portal above, we would ‘virtually’ divide up into work related work zones that align with the projects Work Breakdown Structure (WBS) to track and monitor resources.

Approach to Cost Management

DADA ensures the consistent measurement and cost analysis on major infrastructure works by dividing the costs of works into 9 cost categories below:

1.  Direct Construction Works6.  Management Reserve & Contingency
2.  Indirect Construction Works7. Service Level Agreements / Performance Incentives
3.  Employer’s Indirect Costs8.  Taxation
4.  Resources9.  Indexation (Base / Risk / Uncertainty)
5.  Uncertainty

Thereafter items of work will be classified to define the type of work being carried out (e.g., Testing and commissioning, New Build, Replace (Partial/Full), Refurbish, Enhancements, Remodel / Alter, Extend, Repair, Preventive Maintenance and Hazard Management) and Form of Contract (Fixed Price or Emerging Cost).

Our Whole Life Costing (WLC) activities will follow the RIBA plan of works format, the cost breakdown structure from the ISO 15686, and the ‘unit cost framework’ methodology of RICS new rules of measurement (NRM) suite of documents. We shall adhere also to HM Treasury’s Standard Green Book Optimism bias allowances where adequate reference data is not obtainable.

At RIBA Stages 2, cover Concept Design including feasibility, and RIBA Stages 3 covering Developed Design including making an application for planning permission; the project activities will focus on providing early-stage Project Management, Feasibility Consultancy, Cost Advice and Procurement Services. Key then will be setting up the data structures in the pre-construction phase with a view of through-life data capture will provide a firm foundation for the application of International Cost Management Standard (ICMS) and other coding structures, across the whole life.

The hierarchical framework of ICMS consists of four levels:

  • Level 1: Project or Sub-Project
  • Level 2: Cost Category
  • Level 3: Cost Group
  • Level 4: Cost Sub-Group

Our Cost Models are built-up from the format as below for consistent Cost Analysis, Benchmark Analysis and Cost Modelling:

• Model Reference • Model Exclusions
• Repeatable Work Item (RWI)• Model Applicability
• Work Activity• Cost Element(s)
• Sub RWI• Cost Sub-Element(s)
• Sub-Category• Cost Component(s)
• Main Unit of Measurement• Applicable Cost Drivers
• Model Inclusions• Technical Parameters

Back To Top
Verified by MonsterInsights